Home  > Awards  
Subscribe to CCME News
Subscribe Button
CCME: Awards
“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” — John Quincy Adams

CCME bestows two awards each year in North Carolina and South Carolina, respectively, to a physician leader for outstanding achievements in the areas of health care quality and service to the medical community. The T. Reginald Harris Award in North Carolina honors the life and memory of Dr. Harris, a founding member of CCME’s Board of Directors.The Timothy S. Llewelyn Award in South Carolina honors the life and memory of Dr. Llewelyn, a long-serving Board member. Both men exemplified true commitment to improving the quality of health care patients, dedicating their careers to the practice of medicine and outstanding patient care. 

About T. Reginald Harris, MD

T. Reginald Harris, MDT. Reginald Harris, M.D., vice-president and one of the original members of the board of directors for The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence, formerly Medical Review, died on March 6, 1999, and will be long remembered for his active role in many civic, professional and community activities.

Dr. Harris graduated from the pharmacy school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and completed his medical training at the University of Tennessee in Memphis, with a fellowship in pulmonary disease at Duke University. He served on a number of state and national medical and advisory boards throughout his career, including: president, trustee, treasurer, and board member of the North Carolina Society of Internal Medicine; governor of the North Carolina Chapter of the American College of Physicians; and delegate and active member of the American Medical Association, where he served on a number of commissions and panels. 

In 1998, he was awarded the North Carolina Laureate Award by the NC American College of Physicians. In April, Dr. Harris was to receive the Mastership Honor from the American College of Physicians

About Timothy S. Llewelyn, MD

Timothy S. Llewelyn, MDDr. Llewelyn was well-known for his outstanding patient care, his integrity and compassion, and his leadership in the health care community. He began his career working in public health for the US Army and the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control. 

Dr. Llewelyn was named the 2009 D.C. Hull Physician of the Year by the Spartanburg County Medical Society, in appreciation of his many years of service to the society. He also served the Spartanburg Regional Medical Center as chief of staff and was a founding member of the St. Luke’s Free Medical Clinic, the first free medical clinic in Spartanburg County.

Feedback Form