Home  >  Awards  > Harris Memorial Award  
CCME: Harris Memorial Award

Nominate an Outstanding Physician Leader!

The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) is accepting nominations for the 2017 T. Reginald Harris, MD, Memorial Award. Established in 1999, the Harris Memorial Award honors the life and memory of one of its founding members T. Reginald Harris, MD, for his decades of service to the medical community through the North Carolina Medical Society, the American Medical Association, and many other professional, civic, and community activities.


Any physician residing and practicing in the State of North Carolina who exemplifies excellence in medicine and the delivery of high-quality patient-centered care.


Nominations are reviewed by a selection panel of the CCME Board of Directors.


NCMS LogoPresented annually in conjunction with the North Carolina Medical Society’s M3 Conference, an award is given to a North Carolina physician in recognition of his or her significant contribution to the practice of medicine and outstanding patient care. This year’s M3 Conference is being held September 14-16, 2017, in Raleigh, North Carolina.


Friday, July 21, 2017

2017 Harris Memorial Award Nomination Form

Nominator's Information

Nominee's Information


For more information, contact Mani Medina-Markham at 800-682-2650, ext. 5537, or mmarkham@thecarolinascenter.org.

About T. Reginald Harris, MD

T. Reginald Harris, MDT. Reginald Harris, MD, was a former vice-president and one of the original members of the board of directors for CCME. Dr. Harris passed away in 1999, and will be long remembered for his active role in many civic, professional and community activities.

Dr. Harris graduated from the pharmacy school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and completed his medical training at the University of Tennessee in Memphis, with a fellowship in pulmonary disease at Duke University. He served on a number of state and national medical and advisory boards throughout his career, including: president, trustee, treasurer, and board member of the North Carolina Society of Internal Medicine; governor of the North Carolina Chapter of the American College of Physicians; and delegate and active member of the American Medical Association, where he served on a number of commissions and panels.

In 1998, he was awarded the North Carolina Laureate Award by the NC American College of Physicians and received the Mastership Honor from the American College of Physicians.


Past Harris Memorial Award winners include:


Feedback Form