Home  >  CCME News  > News Article  
CCME: Physician Consultants
11/5/2018 – SC – LLEWELLYN AWARD
Columbia Surgeon Receives Outstanding Achievement Award

Gerald A. Wilson, MD Recognized for Leadership, Service, and Patient-Centered Care

Anil Yallapragada, MDColumbia, SC – Dr. Gerald Wilson of Columbia, South Carolina was awarded The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence’s (CCME) 2018 Timothy S. Llewelyn, MD Award in recognition of his outstanding achievements in the improvement of health care quality and service to the medical community.

A native South Carolinian, Dr. Wilson has devoted his life to serving the South Carolina population for four decades through his general and vascular surgeon practice and his active leadership and participation in medical organizations serving across the state. Dr. Wilson has shown dedication to his community through his involvement in overall public health, diabetes, cancer, women’s health, and behavioral health.

Over the span of his career, Dr. Wilson has received over a dozen prestigious recognitions and awards within South Carolina for his service to the medical community – a true testament of his dedication to health care and to the state. Among these include South Carolina Medical Association’s (SCMA) Physician of the Year for Community Service and a Certificate of Recognition from the Department of Health and Environmental Control Board for Distinguished and Outstanding Leadership, Dedication, and Commitment to the Goal of Eliminating Health Disparities. In 2017, he was awarded the Order of the Palmetto, the highest civilian award in the state.

Although retired, Dr. Wilson remains active throughout South Carolina. He currently serves as Chairman of the Diabetes Advisory Council, the State Health Planning Committee, South Carolina Cancer Coalition, and the South Carolina Behavioral Health Coalition, and the executive board of the Palmetto Medical, Dental, and Pharmaceutical Association. He also serves as Vice-Chair of WeAreSharingHopeSC, the state’s organ procurement agency.

The award was presented by CCME Board of Directors Chairman, Dr. John Smith, at the annual SCMA Board of Trustee Meeting in Columbia, South Carolina on October 25th.

This is CCME’s fourth year presenting the commemorative award honoring the life and memory of long-time board member, Timothy S. Llewelyn, MD. Dr. Llewelyn passed away April 11, 2014, and was well-known for his outstanding patient care, integrity, and compassion. As a leader in the health care community, he practiced internal medicine for 30 years and resided in Spartanburg, SC.

For more information about the Llewelyn Memorial Award, please visit: www.thecarolinascenter.org/LlewelynAward.

# # #

Return to News Headlines

Feedback Form