Nominate a NC physician for the 2023 Harris Award!


Do you know an outstanding North Carolina physician leader? Nominate them to win $2,500 for a charity of their choice! 

The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) is accepting nominations for the 2023 T. Reginald Harris, MD, Memorial Award. The Harris Memorial Award honors the life and memory of founding member T. Reginald Harris, MD, for his decades of service to the North Carolina medical community and through the North Carolina Medical Society, the American Medical Association, and many other professional, civic, and community activities. 

What does the recipient win? 

A plaque and $2,500 donation to the award recipient’s charity of choice will be awarded to a North Carolina physician in recognition of significant contributions to the practice of medicine and outstanding patient care. The award is presented annually in conjunction with the North Carolina Medical Society’s annual conference. 

Who is eligible? 

Any physician residing and practicing in North Carolina who exemplifies excellence in medicine and delivery of high-quality, patient-centered care is eligible for nomination. 

How are winners selected? 

A selection panel of the CCME Board of Directors reviews the nominations and selects a winner to be announced in August. 

How do I nominate someone? Deadline? 

To nominate a deserving physician, please complete and submit the nomination form by Saturday, July 15, 2023. 

For questions, contact Dori DeJong at